Scholarships – High School Seniors, Avon, Avon Lake and Brookside

Scholarships have been awarded by this Rotary Club for many years.  The Foundation determines the amount each year considering fundraising results from the prior year. Since 2011, the dollar amount was increased to $1000 each.

Scholarships must be applied for through the Guidance Office of a student’s respective school.  Scholarships are awarded to candidates who apply and demonstrate their commitment to Rotary’s values of integrity and high standards and their community service.  Scholarships are also awarded to candidates of our STRIVE program and our Interact program.

Scholarship applications are accepted beginning in March and decisions are made in May.  Each high school guidance office has the scholarship application forms.  Eligibility requirements include acceptance by and enrollment in a four-year college or university.

In 2020 we awarded multiple scholarships:

Avon Lake Scholarship Awardee Rayana Meyers

Scholarship Awardee – Avon

Scholarship Awardees Brookside High School

Past scholarship awardees are:

2011/2012:  Brittany Baeder, Francesco Maiorca, Brooke Stafford, Lily Thompson, Taylor Lee Stephens

2012/2013:  Jamie Alexander Budhan, Caitlyn Ohradzansky, Steven Van Truong, Alex Portik, Erin Hastings, Eleanor Miceli-Spieker

2013/2014:  Nicholas Stamatis, Benjamin George, Alexander Spanos, Adam Carpenter, Patrick Campbell

2014/2015:  Kelsey Castrigano, Kay Butrey, Courtney Cook, Megan Rozga

2015/2016:  Hailey Acosta, Tyler Simons, Hannah Floyd, Treasure Jenkins, Chloe Hardman (declined post graduation), Pierce Morgan-Bennett

2016/2017:  Daniel Peganoff (Avon), Josephine Klingshirn (Avon Lake), Jennifer Lyons (Brookside), Madison Buholz (Avon Lake), Madeleine Camp (Brookside), Tayjon Lee (Avon), Tyler Carpenter (Brookside)


2019/2020:  Abigail Davis (Brookside – Interact ), Izze Montgomery (Brookside-Service Above Self), D’Angelo Ward (Brookside – STRIVE), Meghan Waters (Avon – Jane Kuzman Memorial), Patrick Fitz (Avon Lake – Bon Russell Memorial), Kathryn Hawkinson (Avon Lake – Marilyn Weems)